September 19, 2021

Tour de France: van Aert winner of the last stopwatch, Pogacar will enter Paris in yellow

Mountain, stopwatch, sprint … Wout van Aert can do it all. The Belgian Jumbo-Visma, already winner on the double ascent of Mont Ventoux, won the time trial between Libourne and Saint-Émilion on Saturday July 17th. He beat Kasper Asgreen and Jonas Vingegaard.

With a comfortable lead in the general classification, the Slovenian Tadej Pogacar (UAE) did not give his all and still finished eighth in the stage. He thus keeps his yellow jersey before the last stage, in principle a simple formality, which will lead him to the Champs-Élysées where he should win his second Tour de France.

Pogacar did less well in the second time trial than his runner-up, Dane Jonas Vingegaard, who finished third on the stage, 32 seconds behind Wout van Aert. Ecuadorian Richard Carapaz secured him his third place on the final podium.

The time trial, which took place under a summer sun in the renowned vineyards of Libournais and Saint-Émilion, left the order of the top ten in the general classification unchanged.

Objective JO

Wout van Aert, already winner of the Ventoux stage during the second week of the race, on July 7, won for the fifth time in the Tour, but for the first time in a time trial.

In Laval, on June 30, the Belgian took the 4isplace of the first lap of the Tour, 30 seconds from Pogacar.

26-year-old Wout van Aert will be in contention for Olympic gold at the very next Tokyo Olympics, both in road racing and in the time trial. To complete the 30.8 kilometer distance for the day, he averaged 51.5 km / h. He pushed back runner-up, Dane Kasper Asgreen, to 21 seconds, and Vingegaard to 32 seconds.

Bonnamour named ‘super-combative’ of the Tour

The French Franck Bonnamour (B&B Hotels) for his part slightly saved the tricolor balance sheet on the National Tour. The Breton rider was named the most combative rider of the Tour de France 2021 by the jury chaired by the race director Thierry Gouvenou.

Franck Bonnamour, who succeeds the Swiss Marc Hirschi in the list, obtained the same number of votes as Wout van Aert thanks to the public vote, which voted in favor of the Frenchman. In the event of a tie, it is up to the race director to decide and Thierry Gouvenou finally chose the Breton.

Nine runners (Alaphilippe, Bernard, Bonnamour, Gaudu, Mohoric, Pérez, Poels, Politt, van Aert) were in the running for this trophy.

The 21isand the last stage, which is traditionally played in a sprint, is scheduled for Sunday between Chatou, in western Paris, and the Champs-Élysées (108.4 km). For the Briton Mark Cavendish, who has already won four times since the start, this could be the opportunity to overtake the Belgian Eddy Merckx with whom he holds, in equality, the record of 34 stage victories.