October 16, 2021

These 44 roads in Ekurhuleni are getting a name change – what you need to know

The Metropolis of Ekurhuleni is making 44 name modifications to roads in the metro, amongst different renaming efforts for theatres, clinics and precincts.

The name modifications had been first proposed in February 2019 and accepted by town council in September of the identical yr. The workplace of the chief mayor confirmed that the alternative of the bodily signage for the roads is now going down and shall be an ongoing venture.

In a assertion on Tuesday (12 October), town stated that the names change type a part of a two-year course of undertaken by the African Nationwide Congress (ANC) led coalition in Ekurhuleni, which included in depth public session and quite a few legislative approvals.

Among the many excessive profile name modifications are:


  • Gillooly’s Interchange (N12) which is able to now be often known as George Bizos Interchange;
  • Van Buuren (N3) which is able to now be often known as Thabo Mbeki Highway;
  • Ollifantsfontein (R562) which is able to now be often known as Winnie Madikizela-Mandela Drive;
  • Alberton (N12/N17) shall be renamed Chris Hani Highway.
  • “The overarching objective of the ANC is to build a national democratic society that recognises and celebrates the heroes and heroines of South Africa who embody the ideals of social justice and equality,” stated Ekurhuleni mayor Mzwandile Masina.

    “Street names and the names of landmarks symbolise the identity and character of our city. Critics may accuse the city of wasting public funds with the name changes. However, we believe, with great conviction, that future generations of South Africans must grow up in an inclusive environment that celebrates the best of humanity and recognises personal sacrifice in the name of justice as an epithet for remembrance.”

    The total listing of name modifications could be discovered beneath.

    Present name To be renamed as
    Kingsway Library Lawrence Bongani Sibanyoni Library
    Villa Liza Clinic Chris Hani Clinic
    New Germiston Theatre Dumi Masilela Theatre
    The Springs Contemporary Produce Market Ekurhuleni Contemporary Produce Market
    The Vooslorus Cemetery Isaac Scoot Nyashego
    Springs Theatre Ken Gampu Theatre
    New Tsakane Library Mpho Rahab Molepo Library
    Germiston Authorities Precinct OR Tambo Authorities Precinct
    R59 (N12) Abram Moroe
    Tom Jones Highway (N12) Amina Cachalia
    Voortrekker Highway (Kempton Park – R21) Amon Ngulele
    M2/Germiston – Geldenhuys Interchange (N3) Bavumile Vilakazi
    Alberton (N12/N17) Chris Hani
    Rietfontein Highway (N12) Chris Dlamini
    Putfontein Highway (N12) Cleoupas Nsibanda
    Tonk Meter Highway (N17) Congress Skhumbuzo Mtsweni
    Heidelberg Highway David Bopape
    Swaartkoppies Highway (R59/Alberton South) Ali Maziya
    Leondale/Spruitview(N3) Elliot Sogoni
    Rand Airport Fanyana Banda
    Gilloolys Interchange (N12) George Bizos
    Barry Marais (N3) George Makhubela
    Exit Route: Heidelberg Highway Grace Flathela
    Osborne Highway (N17) Johnson Nonjeke
    Griffiths Highway (R21) Joseph Tate Kagarose
    Denne Highway/Items Highway Kunyamane Ranyaoa
    Barbara Highway (R24) Lazarus Mawela
    Linksfield Highway (N3) Lethabo Malatjie
    Edenvale (N12) Lungile Mtshali
    Edenvale (R24)/Van Riebeeck Lungile Mtshali
    Ergo Highway (N17)/Eleventh Highway Margaret Gazo
    Snake Highway (N12) Mary Moodley
    Michelle Ave – Meyersdal (R59/Alberton South) Nelson Mandela
    Nigel Highway (N17)/Wit Highway Ngungunyane Mashabane
    Kraft Highway (N12) Ntemi Ncwane
    Etwatwa (N12) Oscar Mabika
    Alberton (N3) Paul Sehlogo
    Atlas Highway (N12) Solomon Jefferson Mahlangu
    Pomona (R21) Petrus “Chilly” Magagula S32
    Jones Highway (R21/R24) Walter Sisulu
    Daveyton (Kingsway Highway) (N12) Richard Mhlongo
    Holfontein/Pansy Highway (N12) Salvation Motshweni
    Kliprivier R550 (R59/Alberton South) Sam Ntuli
    Wits Rifles Highway (N17) Sam Sidu
    Bronkhorspruit Highway (R25 /R21) Sarah Mnyele
    Atlas Highway (R21) Solomon Jefferson Mahlangu
    Jet Park Highway (N12) Sthembiso Clarence Lukhele
    Van Buuren (N3) Thabo Mbeki
    Rondebult (Boksburg) Thomas Nkobi
    Gray Avenue (N3) Vuyisile Bixa
    Benoni Highway (R21/R23) Willie Oupa Lukhele
    R562 Olifantsfontein Winnie Madikizela-Mandela

    Source link